Securing my IDRP

Hello and welcome to my second blog post about my IDRP’s journey at Flourish Girl.

On this blog, I am going to explain you how I find and secured my placement.

It all began during Summer 2018 where I was looking for an organisation to work for in order to complete my IDRP. Without much specificities in mind except the fact that I wanted to work to help women, I was searching but nothing convinced me much and I did not feel ready to work for a big organisation, as I had in mind the idea to work for a young organisation that would really need my help and my skills in order to grow.

It is only at the end of the summer that I met Mandy, the CEO of Flourish Girl, a young organisation but already established in the Melbourne region, aiming at helping young girls with their mental health and well-being. Their school programs interested me and I met the CEO to apply as an assistant, explaining my goal to complete my IDRP for my master. We were getting along well and had similar opinions and vision for the organisation and she accepted to give me a chance to work with her.

Fast forward to May, nothing had been signed and I was almost late to submit my WIL agreement and proposal to RMIT. The difficult part was to settle a time with the CEO and with RMIT to finalise the papers, while we were all being very busy at this period of the year. I ended up submitting my WIL agreement with not much troubles but struggled a little with the proposal which had to be perfectly representative of my skills and the part I would play within the organisation.

This blog post shows you that it is important to keep continuing and believing in yourself, finding a place to work is not easy to do but I managed to make it work at the end and so will you!

See you in my next blog!

Leave a comment